skip to Main Content
Board of Directors
CCEEB is guided by a 60 member Board of Directors equally composed of business, labor, and public leaders. Our directors, staff, and consultants are recognized experts in the environmental policy field.

Current Leadership

Walter McGuire - Chairman

Mr. McGuire, an attorney by training, has spent most of his career leading environmental and social marketing projects. He is President of McGuire & Co., Inc., a public affairs firm, and President of the Environmental Policy Center, a nonprofit organization. Mr. McGuire was and remains the principal creator and manager for California’s award-winning statewide “Flex Your Power” energy conservation and efficiency campaign.

Mr. McGuire also has extensive public policy experience, including a stint as Chief Lobbyist for the state in Washington, D.C. In this capacity, he served as the principal contact with Congress, the White House, and the federal bureaucracy. Throughout the Carter administration, he organized overseas and domestic trips for the President, Vice President and the State Department, including the President’s trips to Saudi Arabia, Brazil, Germany, France, Japan, Korea and the “Camp David Shuttle” to Israel.

In addition to Flex Your Power, Mr. McGuire has broad experience in managing other large and complex projects. McGuire & Co. planned and produced the 1984 Olympic Torch Relay, designed the route and events for the 1996 Olympic Torch Relay to Atlanta, the 1994 Legacy Tour for World Cup Soccer, John Paul II’s trip to Los Angeles in 1987, and the worldwide celebration of the 20th Anniversary of Earth Day, which in the United States included two and one-half hours of syndicated television programming, events in 3,200 cities and towns and an estimated worldwide participation of over 200 million people in 140 countries.

Jose Mejia - Vice Chairman

Jose Mejia currently serves as Director of the California State Council of Laborers, governmental and regulatory affairs of the Laborers International Union of North America (LiUNA) currently representing 70,000 men and women in California in the construction industry. Mr. Mejia has been a member of (LiUNA) for over 37 years.

Born and raised in the Santa Barbara and San Luis Obispo counties of California, Mr. Mejia worked for various employers in the construction industry throughout Northern Santa Barbara County and throughout San Luis Obispo County, in which many of these years, in a supervisory capacity as Foreman and General Foreman. He served as a business representative and executive board member of the Laborers at the local level for over 15 years prior to relocating to Sacramento.

Mr. Mejia joined the CSCL team in 1999 as Director of Research and was appointed Director in 2004. During this time, he has led the implementation of many changes in labor law and regulatory changes. He has been an active voice for Labor-Management relations within the construction industry for the advancement of job creation.

Mr. Mejia currently serves as Vice Chair of the California Council for Environmental & Economic Balance (CCEEB); Secretary for Transportation California; Board Member for the California Foundation on the Environment and the Economy (CFEE) and a charter Board Member on The Coalition for Renewable Natural Gas.

Steve Gross - Treasurer

Steve Gross is Director of State Relations at Wine Institute, where he has been employed since 1986.  Steve’s duties entail overseeing the activities of Wine Institute’s six State Relations Regional Counsels and Regional Managers as they address state legislation affecting the wine industry, as well as coordinating Wine Institute’s legislative and regulatory activities with staff, contract lobbyists and member wineries.

Randy Fischback - Secretary

Randy Fischback is currently the Public & Government Affairs Director for The Dow Chemical Company in California. Mr. Fischback has worked for Dow for 38 years in a variety of engineering and management positions in research, manufacturing, and environmental health and safety. Before taking on his current responsibilities, Mr. Fischback was Dow’s Regulatory Affairs Leader in California with compliance and remediation responsibilities for Dow’s five California sites. In his current role, he has responsibility for Dow’s public policy, advocacy, reputation, and communication at both the state and local levels.

Mr. Fischback graduated from U.C. Berkeley with a Chemical Engineering degree. He occasionally lectures on bioremediation at his alma mater and is a licensed professional engineer in the state of California. He is a native of the San Francisco Bay Area and works at Dow’s largest California facility in Pittsburg. He lives in Walnut Creek with his wife. They have three grown children living throughout Northern California. Mr. Fischback enjoys cooking, international travel, collecting wines, gardening, golf, and backpacking.

Gerald D. Secundy - President and Chief Executive Officer

Gerald D. Secundy is the President and Chief Executive Officer of the California Council for Environmental and Economic Balance (CCEEB) – a nonprofit, nonpartisan coalition of business, labor, and public leaders. Mr. Secundy has an extensive background with business, regulatory agencies, and the environmental community, and has more than three decades of leadership experience. Before joining CCEEB, Mr. Secundy served as Vice Chair of the California State Water Resources Control Board. Other past positions include Executive Director of Audubon California, Vice President of External Affairs and Environmental Health and Safety at Atlantic Richfield Company, President of the Four Corners Pipeline Company, CFO of ARCO Transportation Company, and as an attorney for the U.S. Department of Justice in the Land and Natural Resources Division.

Mr. Secundy serves on the Board of Trustees of Prescott College, Prescott, Arizona, the Board of Lignetics (a manufacturer of environmentally engineered fuel pellets), the Board of Governors of the Inner City Law Center, a founding member of Pasadena Heritage, the Board of Las Familias del Pueblo, and the Board of Jardin de la Infancia. He has formerly served on the boards of the Center for Non-Profit Management, the Girls Club of Pasadena (president), and the Planning and Conservation League, among others. Mr. Secundy is a life-long member of the Sierra Club, Common Cause, and the American Civil Liberties Union.

After graduating with degrees from Harvard College and Columbia Law School, Mr. Secundy spent more than two years volunteering with the Peace Corp in Peru where he directed a youth center that served over 300 “at risk” youth.

William J. Quinn - Vice President and Chief Operations Officer

William J. Quinn is the Vice President and Chief Operations Officer of the California Council for Environmental and Economic Balance (CCEEB) – a nonprofit, nonpartisan coalition of business, labor, and public leaders. Mr. Quinn has worked extensively in the regulated community in multiple capacities. Prior to joining CCEEB in 1995, Mr. Quinn held environmental management positions for over 15 years with energy and utility industries. He worked closely with key stakeholders in negotiating many of California’s principal environmental statutes. Mr. Quinn develops balanced solutions to regional air quality problems and works closely with district regulators and local communities. As COO and project manager, Mr. Quinn represents CCEEB in numerous public forums.

Past Chairs

Edmund G. “Pat” Brown, 1973‐1977

Katherine Dunlap, 1978‐ 1982

William “Bill” T. Bagley, 1983

Larry F. O’Donnell, 1984‐1989

John Knox, 1990‐1996

Mike Roos, 1997‐1999

Gerald Secundy, 2000‐2002

Robert Kirkwood, 2003‐2004

Walter McGuire, 2004-present

Past Presidents

Michael Peevey, 1973‐1983

Peter J. Fearey, 1984‐1986

Don Burns, 1986‐1989

Victor Weisser, 1989‐2006

Gerald D. Secundy, 2007‐present

Learn more about our work
Join CCEEB's work today